top of page
bO7xY2ON
recording 3
choir on steps
choristers crossing
Magdalen view
COV1
Clerks concert 2
recording 1
Magdalen College Choir
choristers line grass
concert 2
combined 1
concert 1
choir procession
Clerks concert
Magdalen College Choir
choristers smiling
Bach mag 2
AodJu9lZ
Magdalen College Choir

“[The Choir] sings with an intensity suitable to the intimately sensuous nature of the work.” (The Observer 5*)

cricket
Magdalen College Choir
33418625994_6505f640ec_o_edited
Magdalen College Choir

An unbroken choral tradition of over 500 years

Magdalen College Choir
38083781385_b3d17a09c6_o (1)

“[The Choir] sings with an intensity suitable to the intimately sensuous nature of the work.” (The Observer 5*)

Magdalen College Choir
Magdalen College Choir
36897076853_47a31eda9c_o
Magdalen College Choir
Magdalen College Choir
Magdalen College Choir

Forthcoming Services and Events

Why Are All The Muses Mute?
Part of the Oxford Festival of the Arts

Thursday 4th July, 7:30pm

Magdalen College Chapel

A celebration of the music of Henry Purcell, including his royal birthday odes 'Why are all the muses mute', and 'Now does the glorious day appear', alongside the popular anthems 'Rejoice in the Lord alway', 'Hear my prayer' and 'I was glad'.

The Choir and Consort of Voices of Magdalen College, Oxford

Instruments of Time & Truth

Mark Williams, Director

 

Tickets will be available from www.artsfestivaloxford.org 

COMPLETE WORKS OF BACH

STARTING: Thursday 28th March - Maundy Thursday

Recitals as part of a series given throughout the year by Alexander Pott, Assistant Organist and Tutor to the Choristers at Magdalen.

The recital will last between 40 and 50 minutes and is free to attend, with a retiring collection for Great Ormond Street Hospital Charity, which supports care and research for children with illnesses. The programme brochure that will be on sale at the recital series will also raise money for this cause.

dscf1290edit_52644275533_o.jpg

______________________________________________________________________________________________

SPECIAL SERVICES TRINITY TERM 2024

Sun 21 April 6.00pm

Choral Evensong & Sermon before the University

Weds 24 April 3.00pm

Choral Evensong broadcast live on BBC Radio 3

Thurs 25 April 6.00pm

Festal Evensong for St Mark's Day

Sat 27 April 6.00pm

Evensong for the University Choral & Organ Open Day

Weds 1 May 6.00am

May Morning singing from the Great Tower

Weds 1 May 9.15am

Sung Eucharist for SS Philip & James

Fri 3 May 6.00pm

Choral Evensong before the Waynflete Dinner with the Reception of the Bishop of Winchester as College Visitor 

Sat 4 May 6.00pm

Sung Eucharist sung jointly with pupils from MCS

Sun 5 May 6.00pm

Service of Thanksgiving on the 550th Anniversary of the Laying of the Foundation Stone of the Chapel

Thurs 9 May 6.00pm

Sung Eucharist for Ascension Day         

 

Sun 12 May 6.00pm

Sung Eucharist with Baptisms & Confirmations

Mon 13 May 6.00pm

Roman Catholic Mass

Tue 14 May 6.00pm

Festal Choral Evensong for St Matthias

Thurs 30 May 6.00pm

Sung Eucharist & Procession for Corpus Christi

Fri 31 May 6.00pm

Festal Choral Evensong for the Visitation of the BVM

Tues 4 June 6.00pm

Choral Evening Prayer sung jointly with Magdalen College School Junior School Chamber Choir

Tues 11 June 6.00pm

Festal Choral Evensong for St Barnabas

Sun 16 June 10.00am

Outdoor Sermon for St John the Baptist’s Day

Tues 18 June 6.00pm

Choral Evensong for MCS Junior School leavers

Sat 22 June 4.30pm

Choral Evensong sung jointly with members of the Magdalen College Choir Association

Thurs 27 June 5.45pm

Choral Evensong for the Oxford Festival of the Arts

Sat 29 June 6.00pm

Choral Evensong before the Gaudy (1975-78)

Mon 22 July 11.00am

Sung Eucharist for St Mary Magdalen

Mon 22 July 6.00pm

Festal Choral Evensong for St Mary Magdalen

______________________________________________________________________________________________

bottom of page